雅典 2004

奥运会舞台背后

奥运会舞台背后

为雅典奥运会开发的音响系统
“RAMSA”

我们希望在奥运会的圣地雅典展现出最佳表现。运动员们带着特别的心情聚集在这里。松下的音响系统RAMSA的员工们,也有倾注着特别感情的器材。那就是最先进的线性阵列扩音器。这款汇集了RAMSA一直以来积累的知识与技术精华的扩音器,是RAMSA技术人员为了在奥运会发祥地希腊举办的雅典奥运会上得到采用而花费大量时间开发出来的自信作品。

克服挫折而诞生的RAMSA

松下的RAMSA音响系统在以往的奥运会上几乎承担了所有会场的音响演出,但在2002年的盐湖城奥运会上,没能按预想在所有会场导入系统。因为我们准备的扩音器没能完美配合主会场的特性。这次大会给技术人员留下了遗憾。
带着这种心情,为了给雅典带来更美妙的音响而开发出来的就是松下特有的线性阵列扩音器。

雅典奥运会的舞台背后

通常距离越远,声音就会越微弱,但该系统能够将衰减率降低,在奥运会赛场这种大型会场上也能保证无论距离扩音器远近的观众席都能听到均匀清晰的高音质声音。雅典大会上,RAMSA工作人员赌上威信开发出的扩音器,在33个会场上设置了1800台。在炎热的室外,在巨大的体育馆,在离地20米的屋顶上。每个会场都有不同的设置条件,即使经过缜密的计算,到达现场时也需要细致的调整。逐个克服困难,推进设置作业。

雅典奥运会的舞台背后
雅典奥运会的舞台背后

用最佳的音响充满神圣的空间

距离开幕式还有一周,44台线性阵列扩音器运抵了象征奥林匹克的神圣场所。多次在奥林匹克项目中统领现场人员的松下技术主管,达米安·罗。他率领的RAMSA员工与来自日本的支持员工一同作业,在马蹄形传统的体育场内逐个设置线性阵列扩音器。在主控室反复测试的达米安露出了笑容。这样就万无一失了。
而针对北京奥运会,松下的准备工作已经开始了。就像运动员们追求更高的记录一样,松下的技术也会不断进化。为了在4年后能够再次传递那奇迹的瞬间。

The Panasonic Professional Lineup

大型影像显示装置

转播器材

工程投影机

HD影像通讯系统

AV安防系统

Athens 2004

Behind the Scenes at the Olympic Games

Behind the Scenes at the Olympic Games

RAMSA:
The Audio System Developed Specifically for the Olympic Games Athens 2004

Athletes gathered in Athens with a strong determination: to achieve the most epic performance at the birthplace of the Olympic Games. The team heading up Panasonic’s audio system, RAMSA, was equally resolved to outdo itself with their state-of-the-art, line-array speakers. These speakers, the culmination of the experience and skill gathered over the years, were the pride of the RAMSA engineers. They had dedicated many hours into the design to ensure perfect performance when the Olympic Games returned to Greece.

The Birth of RAMSA out of Setbacks

Used in most venues at the past Olympic Games, the Panasonic RAMSA audio system conveyed the thrill of the Olympic competition through its dynamic sound. However, at the Olympic Winter Games Salt Lake 2002, the RAMSA team’s expectations were dashed. The team could not carry out system installations to all venues as previously planned, as the prepared speakers did not meet the specifications of the main stadium. To the RAMSA engineers, the Salt Lake 2002 left a bitter taste of regret.
With this in mind, Panasonic developed the line-array speaker to provide Athens 2004 with an unprecedented and elevated level of sound.

Behind the Scenes at the Athens Olympic Games

With conventional speakers, sound suffers from attenuation: sound weakens with distance. Line-array systems minimized this attenuation so that all spectators in the vast Olympic venue could enjoy the clear, high-quality sound regardless of seating. At the Olympic Games Athens 2004, 1,800 of RAMSA’s innovative speakers were to be installed at 33 Olympic venues: under the scorching sun, in vast gymnasiums, atop the roof of a 20-meter building. Even with precise calculations for each of the varying conditions, the RAMSA team would need to perform meticulous fine-tuning during installation. The engineers carried out the installation process, patiently clearing each hurdle one by one.

Behind the Scenes at the Athens Olympic Games
Behind the Scenes at the Athens Olympic Games

Filling the Hallowed Space with Superior Sound

With one week to go before the Opening Ceremony, the sacred space symbolizing the Olympic Games was at last fitted with 44 line-array speakers. Damian Rowe, Panasonic’s Chief Engineer, had led the local staff during many of Panasonic’s past Olympic Games projects. With Rowe at the helm, the team made up of RAMSA staff and support members from Japan, united to install the line-array speakers in the classic horseshoe stadium. In the midst of his umpteenth control-room test, Rowe broke into a smile. It had all come together.
Panasonic’s preparations are already underway for the next Olympic Games in Beijing. Just as athletes strive for ever-higher glory at the Olympic Games, Panasonic continues to advance its technology – to bring wonder, four years later, to the world again.

The Panasonic Professional Lineup

Large-Screen Display System

Broadcasting Equipment

Professional Projector

HD Visual Communication System

AV Security Equipment System