Panasonic Canada - Corporate Social Responsibility

Panasonic Canada - Corporate Social Responsibility

In keeping with the first of Panasonic's seven core principles, "Contribution to Society", Panasonic Canada introduced a formal corporate outreach program in 1989 to establish annual levels for spending and targeted categories for giving. As part of our global commitment to creating a better life and a better world, PCI recognizes it is our responsibility as a good corporate citizen to help strengthen the communities in which we live and work. Consequently, we encourage our employees to become involved in their communities, lending their voluntary support to programs that enrich the quality of life and opportunities for all citizens.

Through our Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) program, PCI will devote time, energy and resources to initiatives that meet our program criteria in the primary categories of education and community relations/social welfare, including our local and global signature programs. PCI's CSR programs focus on three pillars: employee volunteering, donations and our local signature program, Kid Witness News (KWN). These three pillars encourage us to seek partnerships that transcend differences in race, culture, age or gender.

We are confident that in some small way, our CSR efforts, in conjunction with the corporation's overall business and diversity goals and objectives, have made a difference in the lives of those we have touched and that making a difference will continue to be synonymous with the Panasonic brand.

CSR Program Pillars

Employee Volunteer Program


Signature Program


Paid time off (one day/year) for volunteer work; funding for charities in which employees volunteer

Corporate funding of non-profit and charitable organizations

Kid Witness News -
video education program for schools to stimulate students' communications and organizational skills


Full time employees with manager's approval.

Categories focused on Education, Community Relations and Social Welfare. Must meet criteria outlined in policy.

Elementary (grades 5-8) and secondary (grades 9-12) schools with preference given to disadvantaged schools.